India Clean Sweeps New Zealand: Ashwin Rises to the top

In a Test series, Indian team beat New Zealand for the first time by 321 runs in the third and final test. In the duration of two months, it is the second time that India have been placed at the top of the Test rankings by 115 points.

Once Again Indian Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin proved why he is India’s premier bowler. In the third test match between India and New Zealand, Career best figures of 7 for 59 in Test innings and 13 for 140 runs in the test match helped Indian team to beat New Zealand by 321 runs.

With the win in third test match in Indore, Indian team sealed the series by 3-0. Virat Kohli is only the second Indian captain after Mahendra Singh Dhoni to receive the club.

Indian team captain Virat Kohli said, “The last time we had the mace, I saw it as a player. Now I’m holding it as a captain. It’s a great feeling to win the series and be the No. 1 team in the world…We will always try to improve as a side and play the kind of cricket we have been playing for the rest of the season.”

According to ICICI ranking, recently Indian team have 115 points and have a four point advantage over second placed Pakistan team.


India vs New Zealand 3rd Test 2016 Score Highlights:

India 1st Innings- 557d/5 (169)

NZ 1st Innings- 299/10 (90.2)

India 2nd Innings- 216d/3 (49)

NZ 2nd Innings- 153/10 (44.5)

India Won the Match by 321 runs and series by 3-0

Man of the Match- R Ashwin

Man of the Series- R Ashwin

Ashwin Rises to the Top of the Indian Team:

India’s premier bowler, Ashwin took his 21 five-wicket hauls in the 39 Test matches. He has played for Indian team. In the same number of Tests, he has six ten-wicket hauls.

Ravichandran Ashwin won his seventh man-of-the-series award. Since his debut in Indian team, Ashwin was the first player of the team, who has won seventh MoS award.

He has won seventh man-of-the-series awards in his last eight Test series. Also, this MoS was his fourth consecutive MoS award in Test series. Imran Khan and Malcom Marshall also have the same record.

In this series, Ashwin was the second player who picked up ten-wicket haul. Ravichandran Ashwin is only the second Indian to do so after Harbhajan Singh, who picked up two ten-wicket hauls against Australia in 2000-01.

It is India’s second biggest win in the terms of runs. India’s 339 run win is its first biggest win against South Africa in 2015.

It was Indian team’s fourth whitewash in a Test series with three or more matches. Their earlier three whitewash are – England in 1992-93, Sri Lanka in 1992-93 and Australia in 2012-13.

This post has been seen 303 times.

Team Maffat

News Maffat Com is a Free Guest Blogging Website. Must Try once.