Indian Women’s Cricket Team won Maiden T20 Series over Australia : History Created

The Indian women’s cricket team scripted history by clinching its maiden Twenty20 series win over three – time world champion Australia with a comprehensive 10 – wicket triumph in the rain – truncated second game in Melbourne on Friday.

With this win, the Indians have established a 2 – 0 lead in the three – match series which will wind up on 31 January in Sydney. Opting to bowl after winning the toss, the Indians had their more fancied rivals on the mat in overcast conditions.

India restricted Australia to 125 in the match which was reduced to 18 – overs – a – side following rain interruption. The Indian team celebrates the fall of an Australian wicket. In reply, the Indian eves came out all guns blazing and were cruising along nicely before another round of showers forced a revision of target to 66 in 10 overs.

India Women’s Cricket Team Score:

69/0 in 9.1 overs (target 66 via D/L method)

Australia Women’s Cricket Team Score:

125/8 in 18 overs (Meg Lanning 49, Jhulan Goswami 2/16)

Indian Captain Mithali Raj hit the winning runs as India overhauled the target in 9.1 overs. In a thoroughly dominating performance from start to finish, India cornered Australia early on by reducing them to 33 for three in just the fifth overs of the match.

Indian women win maiden T20 series against Australia
Indian women win maiden T20 series against Australia

It took a 70 – run fourth – wicket stand between Aussie skipper Meg lanning (49) and Jess Jonassen (27) to steady the rocking boat. Lanning’s innings was crucial in propelling Australia to 103 for three in the 14th over before disaster struck yet again.

Once Lanning was run out by Harmanpreet Kaur, the wickets also tumbled in a heap. To their credit, Indian bowlers, especially, senior pacer and player of the match Jhulan Goswami (2/16) and leg – spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwad (2/27) ensured that the hosts’ remained shackled in their scoring rate.

In reply, the Indian batswomen seemed in a hurry to wrap up the proceedings and raced to 52 for now loss in 7.5 overs before the heavens opened yet again. Another round of recalculation followed and the target stood revised at 66 from 10 overs.

For records, it the third time in 11 T20 matches that Indian eves have managed to beat Australia.

This post has been seen 474 times.

Team Maffat

News Maffat Com is a Free Guest Blogging Website. Must Try once.