Government News Recent News

First 20 Smart Cities List to be Developed under Smart City Mission 2016

first 20 smart cities list for smart city mission
Written by Team Maffat

Under the “Smart City Mission”, The Government of India announced the first 20 smart cities. In the India, The smartest city is Lavasa which is near the Pune. We can say Lavasa is smart city or one which is closest to the concept of a Smart City. Metro cities New Delhi and Mumbai are also in a process of upgrading to smart cities.

The Union government announced the names of the first 20 urban areas that will be developed as smart cities. Here we are giving you 20 cities which has been released out of the 98 shortlisted cities.

  1. Bhubaneswar, Odisha
  2. Pune, Maharashtra
  3. Jaipur, Rajasthan
  4. Surat, Gujarat
  5. Kochi, Kerala
  6. Ahmedabad, Gujarat
  7. Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh
  8. Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh
  9. Sholapur, Maharashtra
  10. Davangere, Karnataka
  11. Indore, Madhya Pradesh
  12. New Delhi Municipal Corporation
  13. Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu
  14. Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh
  15. Belagavi, Karnataka
  16. Udaipur, Rajasthan
  17. Guwahati, Assam
  18. Chennai, Tamil Nadu
  19. Ludhiana, Punjab
  20. Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh
Smart City

Smart City

Cities which use technology to monitor the use of electricity, gas, harvesting, oil, transport, water etc. So this type of cities are called as smart cities. Smart Cities will utilise analytics to give efficient solutions which would result in energy saving cost up to 30%.

Minister of urban development Venkaiah Naidu, while announcing the list said that, “Implementation of smart cities plan will showcase integrated planning. The investment of Rs 50,802 crores has been proposed in selected smart cities and towns during the five-year period.”

In the future, the government plans to announce 40 cities each to be developed as a Smart City.

This post has been seen 489 times.

About the author

Team Maffat

News Maffat Com is a Free Guest Blogging Website.
Must Try once.